Esther 7:3, Question 1. Why does Esther mention finding favor in the king’s eyes?

ג וַתַּעַן אֶסְתֵּר הַמַּלְכָּה וַתֹּאמַר אִםמָצָאתִי חֵן בְּעֵינֶיךָ הַמֶּלֶךְ וְאִםעַלהַמֶּלֶךְ טוֹב תִּנָּתֶןלִי נַפְשִׁי בִּשְׁאֵלָתִי וְעַמִּי בְּבַקָּשָׁתִי

3. And Queen Esther answered, “If I have found favor/grace in your eyes, and if it is good on the king, give me my soul in my request and my nation in my petition.

  • The Midrash HaGadol (Shemos 33:17) writes that Esther mentions finding favor in the king’s eyes because the very definition of finding the favor of the king (or H-Shem) is that he (or He) would be willing to do all that is requested.
Leave a Reply

